Wednesday, May 31, 2017

W.O.C.K On Vinyl: David Hasselhoff - Night Rocker (1985)

Before things get too serious here at Rock On Vinyl, I thought it might be fun to post a song / album at the end of each month, that could be categorized as being either Weird, Obscure, Crazy or just plain Korny.
With the pending and much anticipated movie 'Baywatch' due to hit the Australian cinema circuits tomorrow - I thought it would be appropriate to focus this month's W.O.C.K on Vinyl post to one of the key stars from the original T.V series. Sorry fellas, it's not the buxom beauty Pamela Anderson but rather the HOFF or for the benefit of those  Gen Y readers - David Hasselhoff

Now, I've always said that some people just want it all. You would think that landing a high-paying job on a sitcom or feature film would be enough to satisfy an actor's ego, but for some, the idea of hearing their singing voice blaring out of a radio is way too enticing to turn down. We've seen it before. An actor starts getting popular and someone, somewhere, (usually a desperate record exec) thinks out loud: "They're hot right now. Let's sign them to a record deal!"

In some ways, I can't blame some of the actors who've tried their hand at a music career, but some of them—OK, most of them—had no business stepping into a recording studio. And David Hasselhoff or the 'Hoff' to most of us who watched Baywatch and Night Rider in the 80's is the focus of this month's W.O.C.K on vinyl post 

David Hasselhoff's first music album was the wildly unsuccessful "Night Rocker". Despite the success of Knight Rider (remember his
high-tech artificially intelligent car called KITT) and the entire episode 'Let It Be Me' dedicated to promoting the album, it bombed in the United States and pretty much everywhere else. It wasn't until Hasselhoff brought his music to Germany that he became a 'pseudo' music superstar. Actually, the hero worship began not in Germany but neighboring Austria, where, in 1985, Hasselhoff’s debut album, Night Rocker, unexpectedly shot to No. 1 on the local charts. 

Hasselhoff even said himself ‘That’s impossible. It sold seven copies here in America, and I bought five and my mom bought the other two.”

With a title like Night Rocker, I really wanted to like Hasselhoff's first full-length LP, but outside of its LOL- worthy cover photo, the album is just as god-awful as everyone says it is.

And that's why I'm including here with this month's W.O.C.K on Vinyl post, so you can be the judge. But be warned, it's not for the faint hearted and should be listened to in small doses.

So folks - it's K for Korny this month, or is that K for Kitt - not sure.  Only MP3's at 128Kbs I'm afraid, but I don't think a higher bitrate would have improved this one!

Track Listing

01. Night Rocker
02. Crazy On A Saturday Night
03. Do You Love Me
04. Our First Night Together - with Catherine Hickland
05. She Cried
06. Medley: She Cried/All The Right Moves/Our First Night Together
07. Any Kind Of Love At All
08. All The Right Moves
09. No Words For Love
10. Let It Be Me

The Hoff Link (34Mb)    New Link 05/07/2020


  1. Aw, hey man, and I thought you liked us!!

    1. No offense intended - just a bit of fun. Have heard a lot worse !