Saturday, February 4, 2017

1927 - ....ISH (1988) plus bonus tracks

(Australian 1987–1993, 2009–Present)
1927 (read as "nineteen twenty seven") are an Australian pop rock band formed in 1987 with James Barton on drums, Bill Frost on bass guitar, his brother Garry Frost on guitar and keyboards, and Eric Weideman on vocals, guitar and keyboards. They were popular in the late 1980s and early 1990s with their major hit songs "That's When I Think of You", "If I Could", "Compulsory Hero" and "Tell Me a Story". Their multi-platinum number-one album, ...ISH (1988) was followed by The Other Side (1990) which peaked at number three. At the ARIA Music Awards of 1989 they won two categories: Breakthrough Artist – Album for ...ISH and Breakthrough Artist – Single for "That's When I Think of You". At the 1990 ceremony they won Best Video for "Compulsory Hero", which was directed by Geoff Barter. In 1992 the group released a third studio album, 1927, which reached the top 40; but they disbanded the following year. Erik Weideman reformed 1927 in 2009 with a new line-up.
Erik possess one of the best voices in Australian rock music and while 1927’s musicians may have changed over time, the one constant to 1927’s success has been the band’s lead singer, Erik Weideman. Erik has continued to perform in the music industry, playing the the big 80s shows - Here & Now, Idols of the 80's, Living in the 80's well as intimate acoustic performances.

Prior to joining 1927, Erik played in some cover bands. His big break came when he was ‘discovered’ while performing on Hey! Hey! It’s Saturday’s now ‘infamous’ ‘Red Faces’. Late in 1986 guitarist Garry Frost (ex-Moving Pictures) saw the singer and was impressed enough to ask him to join the band he was forming. That band became 1927 and the rest, as they say, is history.

But Erik says that he has been playing music for as long as he can remember. “I picked up a guitar when I was 8 years old. Then, that whole Hey! Hey! thing… I’d been playing in a couple of cover bands – one was called ‘Mixed Feelings’ – around Melbourne and we were doing a couple of gigs a week, on the weekends and working the rest of the time so that was a bit of extra pocket money for a bunch of guys having a good time. Directly prior to the Hey! Hey! thing, I was doing a lot of solo work as well so it’s something I’ve always done but that was definitely my first journey into what people like to consider as the ‘professional’ business, although that can be questionable!” [extract from rockclub40]

1927 re-grouped in 2009 for a series of national tours celebrating the band's 20th anniversary since their debut album, ...ISH, went multi-platinum. Other than Erik Weideman, each of the other three current members are new additions to the band.

In the last four years since the band came together, they have been splitting their time between doing television appearances, singing for troops in Afghanistan and performing with Swedish pop act, Roxette and Scottish rock band, Simple Minds, but fans will be happy to know that there is a new album in the works.
ISH remains one of the highest selling debut albums ever by an Australian band to this day.The story continues however with the release of their new album Generation-i., available from here. The new album has been three years in the making and is well worth the wait. Generation-i  is a beautifully crafted album and once again  showcases the songwriting talents of Erik Weideman and the band with a thoughtful and mature selection of new songs that fans old and new will love.
1927 Today
This post consists of FLACs and MP3's (320kps) ripped from CD (my vinyl has a few scratched) and includes full album artwork for both vinyl and CD. Also included are two bonus tracks, "Not Talking" which is a non-album B-Side single and an extended version of "That's When I Think Of You" from a 12" single of the same name (artwork also included).  As mentioned above, this is a classic album and in many ways highly under rated.
Track Listing
01 To Love Me  (4:21)
02 That's When I Think Of You   (4:13)
03 If I Could  (3:40)
04 You'll Never Know (3:41)
05 Compulsory Hero  (4:35)
06 All The People  (3:54)
07 Nothing In The Universe  (4:05)
08 Propaganda Machine    (3:26)
09 Give The Kid A Break  (3:36)
10 The Mess  (2:42)
11 That's When I Think Of You (Extended Version)   (5:18)
12 Not Talking (B-Side Single)  (2:42)

1927 were:
Eric Weideman (Vocals, Guitar)
Garry Frost (Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals)
Bill Frost (Bass, Vocals)
James Barton (Drums, Vocals)

1927 FLAC Link (306Mb)
1927 MP3 Link (109Mb)

1 comment:

  1. I went to Sydney on holiday in 1988, and ended up recording snippets of mostly JJJ radio on cassettes when i was there.....i remember "That's When I Think Of You" being a song I heard that i had NO idea who performed it, and it took me many years to find out who exactly it was!! A really nice, catchy mainstream rock song! thanks!!!!