Thursday, May 31, 2012

W.O.C.K On Vinyl - Bruce Willis - The Return Of Bruno (1987)

Before things get too serious at Rock On Vinyl, I thought it might be fun to post a song at the end of each month, that could be considered to be either Weird, Obscure, Crazy or just plain Korny.
.When I came across this album in an Opp Shop recently, I thought it was a joke - Bruce Willis (alias John McClane - tough guy) a singer - no way!
Now I gotta say, I was very surprised when I gave this album a spin on my turntable, the music and vocals weren't too bad at all.
Since the first “talkie” pictures in the 1920's, actors have wanted to sing and singers have wanted to act. Actors such as Harry Belafonte and Telly Savalas were as well known for their songs as they
were for their movies, and singers like Isaac Hayes and Barbra Streisand became equally famous for their acting roles. Yet, for every one of these successful crossover artists, there are dozens who were never quite able to pull it off. Strangely enough, Willis isn't one of them.
Bruce Willis is an American actor and producer, whose career began in television in the 1980s and has continued both in television and film since, including comedic, dramatic, and action roles. He is best known for the role of John McClane in the 'Die Hard' series, which were mostly critical and uniformly financial successes. He has also appeared in over sixty films, including box office successes like Pulp Fiction, Sin City, 12 Monkeys, The Fifth Element, Armageddon, and The Sixth Sense.
Bruce Willis released his debut album, 'The Return of Bruno', in early 1987 on Motown Records. At 32-years-old, he recorded this collection of cover songs just a yea
r before his performance in the film 'Die Hard' which launched his career as one of the top-grossing action stars of his generation. Nine out of ten tracks on the album are covers of Motown classics such as “Respect Yourself” (which peaked at #5 on the Billboard pop charts) and “Under the Boardwalk,” and feature backing performances by Booker T. Jones and The Temptations.
The lone original track is “Jackpot (Bruno's Bop),” which was co-written by Willis and producer Robert Kraft. He released a follow-up album in 1989 and contributed music to his 1991 flop 'Hudson Hawk', but ever since has chosen to concentrate on his acting.
Now perhaps while he's making his next Die Hard movie (are we up to #5 yet
?) John McClane might consider bringing down the bad guys with some of his 'vocal talent' and who knows, he might even consider calling it Sing Hard Too......
So, enjoy this month's WOCK On Vinyl posting, which consists of a vinyl rip (320kps) along with full album/CD artwork. After listening to this album, I'm sure you'll be saying

01. Comin' Right Up - 3:29

02. Flirting With Disaster - 4:29
03. Respect Yourself - 3:52
04. Down In Hollywood - 5:20
05. Young Blood - 4:12
06. Under The Boardwalk - 3:02
07. Secret Agent Man/James Bond I - 4:47
08. Jackpot (Bruno's Bop) - 4:11
09. Fun Time - 3:37
10. Lose Myself - 3:57


Bruce Willis Link (92Mb) New Link 02/09/2015


  1. I actually bought this when it was released, and I still have it in my collection. It's quite enjoyable, and has a good variety of songs. Well recommended.Rob

  2. Hey Rob - thanks for dropping by. Glad to hear that you agree with me on this one. It is a top album.