Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Electric Sun - Earthquake (1979)

(German 1978-1986)
Uli Jon Roth (a.k.a. Ulrich Roth) is a German-born virtuoso guitarist who has been in bands such as Scorpions, Electric Sun, and Sky of Avalon. While maintaining a cult status, he has influenced and inspired the likes of other great guitarists such as "Eddie Van Halen" and "Yngwie Malmsteen". He played with Scorpions in the mid-70's for 5 years, recording 4 studio albums and 1 live album. After departing from Scorpions, he went to form his own band Electric Sun and recorded three albums. Then he disappeared from the music scene for more than 10 years before coming back with a new band called Sky of Avalon, which resulted in Roth's departure from Rock N' Roll and embracing more of a classically-oriented sound. In 2000 he released the unique album Transcendental Sky Guitar, which displays his virtuosity and appreciation for both rock and classical music. He continued his classical experiments with his rendition of Vivaldi's Four Seasons, titled Metamorphosis and then followed up with Symphonic Legend Volume Number I - Under A Dark Sky.
Being a huge fan of the "Master of the Stratocaster" Jimi Hendrix, I easily gravitated to the sounds of Robin Trower & Frank Marino in the early-mid 70's to fill the void. They were the closest thing to Jimi's spirit as you could get. Enter Uli Jon Roth, Scorpions axe man (first heard him on the track 'Speed Is Coming') and felt the Hendrix vibes throughout and then was taken to the max on "Fly to the Rainbow".
I picked up the "Earthquake" Electric Sun album back in the late 70's from an import shop in city central (Melbourne) and was stunned by some of the best virtuoso and technical guitar playing I have heard in awhile. If you love that Hendrix sound, Uli delivers the goods and puts a smile in your ears. From the opening track "Electric Sun" to the closing title track of "Earthquake" Uli Jon Roth paints a melodic soundscape of guitar "meisterwerk" that would influence the next crop of rock guitarists to come in the 80's. This album is an instant guitar hero classic and it takes you to another level. Favourite tracks are 'Sundown' and of course the epic title track 'Earthquake' where Uli pulls out all of the stops on his amplifier and puts his guitar through a masterful workout.
The only downside are the vocals but they'll grow on you after awhile and don't take away from his monster guitarwork. Keep your rap and alternative crap.....just give me a real musician, a stratocaster and a stack of Marshalls and I'm one happy rock 'n' roll camper!

The rip included here was taken from CD at 192kps and includes album artwork.

Track Listing
01 - Electric Sun
02 - Lilac
03 - Burning Wheels Turning
04 - Japanese Dream
05 - Sundown
06 - Winterdays
07 - Still So Many Lives Away
08 - Earthquake
Band Members
Uli Jon Roth (Guitar, Vocals)
Ule Ritgen (Bass)
Clive Edwards (Drums)
Electric Sun Link (54Mb) New Link 04/10/2013

1 comment:

  1. Great! Thank you, I look forward to hearing this album.