Monday, October 12, 2009

The Church - Live At The Palace Melbourne (1991) Ex SB

(Australian 1980-Present)
The Church is an Australian rock band formed in Canberra in 1980. Initially associated with New Wave and the neo-psychedelic sound of the mid 1980s, their music later became more reminiscent of "progressive rock," featuring long instrumental jams and complex guitar interplay.
The Church's debut album, Of Skins and Heart (1981), earned them their first radio hit "The Unguarded Moment." They were signed to major labels in Australia, Europe and the U.S. However, the U.S. label was dissatisfied with their second album and dropped the band without releasing the album. This put a dent in their commercial success, but they made a comeback in 1988, with the album Starfish and the American Top 40 hit "Under the Milky Way" which is one of my all time favourite songs. Subsequent commercial success proved elusive, however, and the band weathered several line-up changes in the 1990s. The last decade has seen them settle on their current lineup, which features the original three founding members plus drummer Tim Powles. (
Recorded at The Palace, Melbourne, April 25, 1991, this is a stereo soundboard recording. Also goes under the title of 'Postcard'.
A great sounding bootleg... much better than I expected. Plays loud and full in the car. Turn it up, and it almost feels like you're there. The master tape is suffering from some age (there is some subtle playback "wow" and "flutter" on the CD, and a bad glitch in the middle of "When You Were Mine"). Still, it is a worthwhile document of a time when the band was on the cusp of undergoing some monumental lineup changes. A "must-have" if you are a Church fanatic.
The rip was taken from CD at 192kps and includes full artwork.
Track Listing
01 When You Were Mine
02 Tristesse
03 North South East and West
04 Almost With You
05 Hotel Womb
06 An Interlude
07 Fading Away
08 Under The Milky Way
09 Grind
10 Destination
11 Myrrh
12 Reptile
13 Is This Where You Live (Encore 1)
14 You're Still Beautiful (Encore 2)
15 Friction (Television song)
Band Members:
Steve Kilbey - Bass, Lead Vocals
Peter Koppes - Guitar
Marty Willson-Piper - Guitar, Vocals
Jay Dee Daugherty - Drums
The Church Link (108Mb) New Link 27/08/2015


  1. Thanks for posting this. I've downloaded it and enjoy it immensely. It's great to find some live Church as I don't think they've ever released a proper live album. Your blog inspired me to dust of my own recording and digitize it and get it posted online. It's not nearly as good as this one, but I think it's definitely listenable. Check it out at

  2. Thanks for dropping by Russell and good luck with your new blog.
    If anyone is after more 'Church' posts, see Russell's blog as per the URL above.
    And don't forget to leave him a comment if you do, to show your support for his blog

  3. Link is dead... Any chance someone would please repost this rare show?


    1. OK Steve - I've reposted this bootleg.

      Enjoy !

  4. Thanks, Steve!! This may be similar, or not, to a bootleg CD that I've lost, "Priest = Aura" Tour. Thanks Anyway!!

  5. Pre "Priest" Tour, to be exact --- Sounds much Better than the lost CD and the Television cover is a treat!!

  6. Having only just discovered The Church with The Blurred Crusade and Gold Afternoon Fix (blimey!) your two posts of the band are a great find. Many thanks!

  7. Thanks for dropping by Hamster. Glad you to hear that you've finally discovered one of Australia's best innovative bands from the 80's. Plenty more from where this came from, so stay tuned. cheers AR

  8. But that was long ago..... What a swindled boy what a god what a band.